Archived Story

Primaries to determine nominees —Edwards unopposed in his re-election bid

Published 5:23pm Monday, March 3, 2014

The battle lines are drawn and the opponents are known.

State Sen. Bill Cook, a Republican who lives in Beaufort County and is seeking re-election, will be the Republican nominee to represent District 1 in the state Senate. He will face either Stan White or Judy Ann Krahenbuhl, both from Dare County and who are competing to be the Democratic nominee for the District 1 seat. The winner of the Democratic primary takes on Cook in the general election in November.

Cook defeated White in the 2012 election, winning by a narrow margin over White, who had been appointed to the seat when Marc Basnight, longtime president pro tempore of the state Senate, left office.

Krahenbuhl is a former chairwoman of the Dare County Democratic Party. She is a retired public-school educator and administrator.

Paul Tine, the Democratic incumbent who represents District 6 in the state House of Representatives, is seeking re-election. He will face either Ashley Woolard, a Washington Republican, or Mattie Lawson, a Dare County Republican whom Tine defeated in the 2012 election. Woolard and Lawson face each other in the GOP primary to determine the Republican nominee.

State Rep. Michael Speciale, a Republican who represents District 3 in the state House, is facing opposition in the general election from Democrat Whit Whitley. Both candidates are from New Bern. District 3 includes parts of Beaufort and Craven counties and all of Pamlico County.

Seth Edwards, district attorney for the 2nd Prosecutorial District, is unopposed in his re-election bid. Edwards, a Democrat, was first elected district attorney in 2002 and re-elected in 2006 in a contested race and in 2010, when he was unopposed.

The 2nd Prosecutorial District includes Beaufort County, where Edwards lives, and Martin, Washington, Hyde and Tyrrell counties. The district attorney is elected to a four-year term.

In the 2nd Judicial District, District Court judges Regina Griffin and Darrell B. Cayton are seeking re-election. They are unopposed.

In the state’s 1st Congressional District, which includes part of Beaufort County, Arthur Rich, of Garland, and John Brent Shyepulefski, of Rocky Mount, are seeking to become the Republican nominee to replace U.S. Rep. G.K. Butterfield Jr., the incumbent, as the congressman from the 1st District. Butterfield, of Wilson, faces opposition for the Democratic nomination from Dan Whittacre of Henderson.

In the 3rd Congressional District, incumbent Walter B. Jones Jr., a Republican from Farmville, faces two challengers for the GOP nomination. The challengers are Al Novinec, of Jacksonville, and Taylor Griffin, of New Bern. The 3rd Congressional District includes part of Beaufort County.

The Republican nominee faces Democrat Richard A. Marshall in the general election.

Primaries are set for May 6. Early voting for the primaries begins April 24 and ends May 3. The general election is set for Nov. 4, with early voting in the general election beginning Oct. 23 and ending Nov. 1.


Editor's Picks

Pay raise proposal leaves too many questions

On April 5, Gov. Pat McCrory announced his proposal for an average 5-percent pay raise for teachers, as well as larger bonuses across the board, ... Read more

Higher expectations required

It’s time to vote again. Today represents a monumental day in which all citizens can exercise their right to vote. Many don’t. Primaries often have ... Read more