54th-annual Fine Arts Show winners on display

Published 5:11 pm Sunday, November 11, 2018

Some of the best artists in eastern North Carolina are currently on display at Arts of the Pamlico’s Turnage Theatre.

The 54th-annual Fine Arts Show opened with a bang last week, and this year’s submissions exceeded the juror’s expectations for quality, according to Thad Aley, AOP’s events and exhibits coordinator.

From the intricate batik work of Wendy Jewett’s “Roots,” to the elegant beauty of Lemonade Art Gallery owner Carol Mann’s “Illuminated Iris,” the 166 pieces from 66 artists, ranging from Raleigh to the Outer Banks, made up what many long-time arts supporters referred to at the opening reception “as the best show they’d see so far.”

Bennett, a Williamston artist, made a repeat for the show’s highest honor of “Best in Show,” with his luminescent oil portrait, “Break Time.”

Two award remain to be selected: the East Carolina Wildfowl Guild Award, selected by the guild, and the Dr. William E. Kidd People’s Choice Award, which the public is asked to weigh in on, selecting their favorite piece by ballot. Voting will be open for another week, according to Aley.

The winners will be on display at the Turnage through the month of November.


Arts of the Pamlico’s 54th Annual Fine Arts Show Category Winners:


1st Place: Dodi Groesser — The Day Dreamer

2nd Place: Thomas Munn — April Dogwood

3rd Place: Eileen Sanger — Blue Harbor

Honorable mention: Art Tyndall — Heading Out

Honorable mention: Vicki Vitale — B&B in Giverny



1st Place: Dana Munn — The River

2nd Place: Pat Holscher — Scotch by the Glass

3rd Place: John Groesser — Going South for the Winter

Honorable mention: Karyn Drum — Kinda Cozumelly

Honorable mention: Kay Godfrey Woolard — Ice Prisms



1st Place: Jeffrey Jakub — Signs of Times Square

2nd Place: Verena Murvin —  Curiosity

3rd Place: Isabel Farrell — Johnson St, Sausalita

Honorable mention: Dana Eddings — Log Jamming



1st Place: Diana Coidan — Saint Tropez Harbor

2nd Place: James Earl Leggett — A Patient Dog Hunting Ducks

Graphics/Open Mixed

1st Place: Ginger Gehres — Cat’s Cradle

2nd Place: Gale Champion — Ebb and Flow


Three-Dimensional (sculpture, ceramics, fiber art, wood, glass, metal, paper, jewelry, etc.)

1st Place: Allan Weaver — Three Fates

2nd Place: Courtney Ford — Fount

3rd Place: Ramos Manning — Aphrodite – Goddess of Beauty


Judge’s Awards

William Aley — As We See Ourself

Peter Hickey — Carrot Island Wild

CoraMae Pipkin — Invasive Intruders

Bill Walker — Buddies


2018 Fine Art Show Awards

The Francis M. & William R. Roberson Jr. Best in Show Award     

Mike Bennett — Break Time (Savannah)


Creative Illusions Award – Best Entry for Abstract Work     

Georgia Mason — Earth Lyric – Grays

Honorable mention: Lynne Anderson — Fish Eye

Honorable mention: Dixie Leibert — Hidden Objects


Arts of the Pamlico 1st Place in 3-D Art Award      

Allan Weaver — Three Fates


The Lane People Prize (given by Louise and Harold Lane)

Any Media depicting a Person or People

Dorothy McLennan — Afternoon with Anna

Honorable mention: David Brown — Paper Boy


Oil Color Awards (given by Ginger Gehres)

Best Work using Oils

Dodi Groesser — The Day Dreamer

2nd Place Work using Oils

Thomas Munn — April Dogwood


The Margaret Hodges Hackney Best in Beaufort County Award                  

Colleen Knight — The Great Heron


Franke K. Rumley Textile Award             

Wendy Jewett – Roots


Washington Garden Club Botanical Art Award    

Carol Mann — Illuminated Iris


The Young Ones Award – Best Emerging Artist (age 35 and under)             

Ami Flowers Staples — Tortuga Marina

Honorable mention: Courtney Howard — Ready to Jam


SpringShire Retirement Community Award

Best Work depicting Community

Lynn Hines — Home Port


Sound Rivers Award

Best Entry expressing the River as a Valuable Asset

Karen Van Gamper — Canada Goose


Irene Glover Forbes Pottery Award          

Carolyn Sleeper — Delta

HANDBUILT: Ceramicist Carolyn Sleeper’s piece, Delta, won the Irene Glover Forbes Pottery Award.