• 46°

Pantego farmer elected to state soybean board

From N.C. Soybean Producers Association

Reid Gelderman of Pantego, was elected to a three-year term on the board of directors of the North Carolina Soybean Producers Association at the 52nd annual meeting in Durham on Jan. 10. Gelderman will represent Hyde county.

As a director on the state soybean board, Gelderman is responsible for overseeing the soybean checkoff-funded research, marketing and communications work of the association, as well as conducting advocacy work on behalf of the state’s soybean industry.

North Carolina soybean producers elected the following officers for 2019: president Jeff Tyson of Nashville, vice president David Heath of Dover, secretary Gary Hendrix of Raeford and treasurer John Fleming of Tarboro.

The North Carolina Soybean Producers Association is a statewide trade association representing all North Carolina soybean producers, responsible for research, education and promotion programs to benefit the state’s soybean farmers. The association is the qualified state board responsible for administering national soybean checkoff programs in North Carolina. The association is the state affiliate of the American Soybean Association.