Post 15 rallied for victory

Published 6:23 am Monday, June 11, 2007

By By BRIAN HAINES, Sports Writer
Beaufort County Post 15 rallied from deficits of 3-0 and 4-3 to take an 8-6 victory over Ahoskie Post 102 on Sunday.
With the score deadlocked at 6-6 in the eighth inning, Post 15’s William Rushton delivered a two-out bloop single over the head of shortstop Heath Brent to score Chris Ipock and Sean Droese to lead Beaufort to victory at Futrell Field and improve its record to 5-2 (3-0).
Post 15 coach Doc Austin praised Rushton for his clutch hit.
Austin said that Rushton’s experience playing with the Northside Panthers has helped his growth as a player.
Beaufort fell behind quickly as Post 102 rallied for three runs in the first inning off starter Alan Swain.
Post 15 answered back in the bottom of the second with a three-run rally of its own. Patrick Williams, Austin Thompson and Ipock hit consecutive singles to start the second. Ipock’s single brought home Williams to cut the score to 3-1. Thompson would score from third on a wild pitch by Post 15 starter Brent Bowen. Zach Van Voorhees scored Ipock when he bounced a grounder to second to tie the game.
After Ahoskie picked up a run in the fourth, Beaufort answered with three unconventional runs in the same inning.
Post 102 reliever Josh Morris balked home Williams to tie the game at four. Later on in the inning Beaufort’s Ipock and Corey Rogerson would score thanks to a mental lapse by Ahoskie catcher Jacob Harold.
With two outs and runners on second and third, Morris struck out Droese, but Harold could not hang on to the ball. Instead of throwing to first base to complete the strikeout, Harold threw the ball to third and, when the ball sailed over the third baseman, Ipock and Rogerson were able to come home.
Post 102 would eventually tie the game at six by scoring runs in the fifth and seventh innings, setting up Rushton’s game-winning hit.
Swain pitched six innings for Beaufort and though he left with a 6-5 lead, he finished the game with a no-decision. Swain allowed five runs, struck out three while walking four batters.
Rogerson came in for what was initially a save situation, but wound up with the win. Rogerson struck out four in three innings, while letting up one run.
Beaufort County’s next game will be Wednesday at home against Edgecombe County.
Ahoskie 300 110 100 — 6 8 2
Beaufort County 030 300 02X — 8 7 3
WP: Corey Rogerson; LP: Dustin Briggs
Hitters: Ryan Mathews 1-4 (R), Dustin Briggs 1-4, Heath Brent 2-4 (R, RBI), Aaron Hoggart 3-4 (2 RBI, R), Mike Burton 1-3 (RBI); B — Corey Rogerson 1-3, William Rushton 2-3 (2 RBI), Patrick Williams 1-2 (2 R), Austin Thompson 1-4 (R), Chris Ipock 2-3 (RBI, 3 R).