Washington to face Tarboro in annual Victory Bell Bowl

Published 7:51 pm Friday, August 29, 2008

By By KEVIN TRAVIS, Sports Editor
Washington is feeling greedy. The Pam Pack wants the “bell” back.
After winning the annual Victory Bell Bowl in 2005 and 2006, Washington saw Tarboro claim the bell last year with a 25-21 victory. It gave the Vikings a 5-2 lead in the series.
Today’s game in Tarboro kicks off at 7:30 p.m.
The Pack (1-0) is coming off a 33-12 win over North Pitt in the season opener. Washington looked unstoppable in the first half, while fumbles and penalties in the second half left Sawyer scratching his head and searching for answers.
Dakuan Spencer led Washington’s attack with four touchdowns, including three through the air as he finished with five receptions for 132 yards. The junior also returned an interception for a touchdown.
Senior quarterback Austin Thompson clicked on 9 of 14 passes (64.3 percent) as he threw for 164 yards, two touchdowns and an interception. He added 35 yards on the ground.
The Vikings (1-0), coached by Jeff Craddock, rolled to a 50-7 victory over Nash Central in last week’s opener.
Tarboro was opportunistic as the Vikings took advantage of five fumble recoveries and an interception.
The Vikings racked up 426 yards of offense, including 360 on the ground.
Damarius Harper led the rushing attack with 103 yards and a score on 13 carries. Quarterback Jeremy Bellamy added 85 yards on the ground, which included an 80-yard TD jaunt, long with a 54-yard scoring strike to Lakevious Battle.
Kevin Staton broke off a 75-yard touchdown run, while Jamal Farmer scored twice and ran for 53 yards.
Sawyer is hoping to get senior defensive end Chase Tripp back into the mix. Tripp missed the season opener with an ankle injury, which he suffered when a Plymouth player rolled over it during a scrimmage.
Victory Bell Bowl
2007 — Tarboro 25, Washington 21
2006 — Washington 27, Tarboro 10
2005 — Washington 34, Tarboro 33, OT
2004 — Tarboro 32, Washington 28
2003 — Tarboro 38, Washington 6
2002 — Tarboro 30, Washington 14
2001 — Tarboro 26, Washington 19