Trent Watkins Awards to be presented

Published 7:18 pm Tuesday, May 5, 2009

By By KEVIN TRAVIS, Sports Editor
Trent Watkins was a star baseball and football player for the Washington Pam Pack.
Watkins was killed in a tragic motorcycle accident on April 7, 2004. To help keep his memory alive, Watkins’ parents, Wayne and Kim Watkins, present a “Watkins Athletic Award in Memory of Trent Emery Watkins” each year on the home baseball game that falls closest to his birthday (May 2).
The awards will be presented at 6:45 p.m. today at Futrell Field, prior to Washington’s game against Havelock.
The athletes are selected by the coaching staff of their respective teams. In order to receive the award, the athletes must demonstrate strength of character and integrity; a positive attitude with the determination and drive to win; and an unquestionable dedication to the team.
Trent Watkins Athletic Award Winners:
Baseball – Josh Woolard
Football – Cody Cunningham
Baseball – Trent Whitehead
Football – Lee Watkins
Baseball – Jonathan “Peanut” Chandler
Football – Mat Tanner
Baseball – Josh Fulcher
Football – Nigel Rodgers
Baseball – John Brown
Football – Jonathan Davenport