Local photography exhibit opens Thursday at BCAC

Published 8:26 am Wednesday, July 22, 2009

Lifestyles & Features Editor

The Beaufort County Arts Council is putting the finishing touches on its second annual Juried Photography Exhibit, which opens to the public Thursday.
An opening reception is planned for that day from 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. in the Washington Civic Center gallery. The show runs through Aug. 29.
The exhibit is an offshoot of the BCAC Fine Arts Show, according to Executive Director Joey Toler.
“Up until last year, this was a part of the Fine Arts Show,” Toler said. “Photography has grown so much as a medium, and technology like digital photography has started to dominate the medium, so we decided to do a separate show.”
Toler said response to the change has been positive. This year, 45 photographers entered 134 pieces, 65 of which were juried into the show. Most are for sale.
“I’m really impressed with the quality this year,” Toler said. “I encourage folks to come out. There is a lot of local work, and some people will recognize the scenes. This will really resonate with people.”
The entries were divided into six categories, including one specifically for fledgling photographers younger than 18 years old.
The task of deciding which pieces to include in the exhibit fell to juror Sherrie Whitehead. She has a master’s degree in fine art in photography from the Savannah College of Art &Design and is the recipient of numerous awards and fellowships. Whitehead has taught in Italy and France and is presently teaching photography full time at Cape Fear Community College in Wilmington.
Stewart’s Jewelry Store “Best in Show” honors went to Logan Mock-Bunting of Wrightsville for his “Beach From Above Shoreline.” The piece also received the Washington Daily News Award.
Jeremy Smith’s “This Old House” won the Frank Sommerkamp History Award, and Alton Tisdale’s “Dissonance” won the “Best Color — Digitally Enhanced Award” sponsored ASAP. “A Tethered Understanding” by Neil Loughlin won the “Best Color — Non-enhanced Award,” also sponsored by ASAP.
Other winners in the various categories are as follows:
*Traditional monochrome — Neil Loughlin, first; David Clark, second; Stephanie Mault, third; Frederick Hawkins, Guy Livesay, Karen Mault, Neil Loughlin, Logan Mock-Bunting and Ashley Klann, honorable mention;
*Nature/landscapes — Alton Tisdale, first; David Clark, second; Neil Loughlin, third; Karen Baggot, Marshall Hall, Guy Livesay, Sheri Clark, Karen Hackney, James Caufield, Beth Jarvah, Greg Mansfield and Maia Call, honorable mention;
*Nature/wildlife — Jamie Konarski-Davidson, first; Ashley Klann, second; Neil Loughlin, third; Dan Willis, Larry Boyd, Jamie Konarski-Davidson, Mary Jean Peters, Dolly Woodell, Ulrich Alsentzer, Ken Rowe, True Brescia and Jamie Konarski-Davidson;
*People — Norm Robins, first; Dana Eddings, second; Paige Irons, third; Sam Price, Norm Robins, Paige Irons, Gregg Ward and Francesca DiMarco;
*Places — Jeremy Smith, first; Joe Sleeper, second; Larry Boyd, third; Larry Boyd, Sam Price, Ken Rowe, Stephanie Mault, Ashley Klann, Alton Tisdale, Karen Hackney and Mary Jean Peters;
*Youth (under age 18) — Sam’l Grist, first; Andi Justice, second; Sam’l Grist, third; Daniel Brantley (2), Andi Justice (2), Sam’l Grist and James Andrews (3).
This year’s show is sponsored by memorial contributions made to the Beaufort County Arts Council in honor of Mildred Hoell, Mavis Rodman Peele, W.R. (Bill) Roberson Jr., Franke Rumley and W.A. Stuart Jr.