N.C. All-State football team released|Butler, West Rowan headline the squad

Published 12:15 pm Thursday, December 24, 2009

By By AARON BEARD, AP Sports Writer
RALEIGH — Matthews Butler and West Rowan finished the season as unbeaten state champions. It’s no surprise then that they would have significant representation on the 2009 Associated Press All-State high school football team for North Carolina.
Both schools had four players selected to the 27-member team, which was released Wednesday after voting from 17 media members from across the state.
Butler — which won the Class 4-AA championship — had quarterback Christian LeMay, receiver Anthony Short, offensive lineman Kendall Lamm and defensive back Nate Charest. West Rowan — which won the 3-A title and has won 30 straight games — had three players make the team for the second straight year in running back K.P. Parks, offensive lineman Tim Pangburn and defensive lineman Chris Smith. Defensive lineman Eli Goodson joined his Falcon teammates on the squad.
It marked the first time that two schools had four players chosen since Charlotte Independence and New Bern did it in 2002.
Newton-Conover had two players chosen in defensive lineman Jordan Gibbs and defensive back Ty Brown, making the 2-AA finalist the only other school with multiple All-State picks.
LeMay, a junior, threw for nearly 3,300 yards and 44 touchdowns with just two interceptions for Butler, helping the Bulldogs to a 48-17 win against Fayetteville Britt in the 4-AA final. Short was his top target, while Charest was a two-way starter and a Shrine Bowl pick.
Parks, a senior headed to Virginia, ran for a state-record 3,794 yards and 59 touchdowns this year.
Burnsville Mountain Heritage’s Casey Randolph joined Parks in the backfield after running for more than 3,000 yards, while South Johnston’s Dee Williams and Jones County’s Thomas Fryar made the team at receiver. The AP added a third receiver this season due to an increase in passing offenses.
Charlotte Providence’s Braxton Deaver was picked at tight end, while Raleigh Athens Drive’s Rob Crisp, Independence’s Ryan Thompson and Lake Norman’s Kane Sherrill joined Pangburn and Lamm on the offensive line.
Defensively, New Hanover County’s Everette Israel joined Smith, Gibbs and Goodson on the line, while Asheville Reynolds’ Patrick Blalock, Anson County’s Stephone Anthony, and Lenoir Hibriten’s Darius Lipford were chosen at linebacker.
In the secondary, Charest and Brown were joined by Northern Guilford’s Keenan Allen, an Alabama recruit who accounted for 53 touchdowns as a two-way performer while tallying 145 tackles and eight interceptions. Winston-Salem Reynolds’ Vance Matthews was the other defensive back chosen.
Greenville Rose’s Warren Harvey made the team as a kicker after making 14 field goals this year, while Wilmington Hoggard’s Will Bauman was chosen as punter after averaging 45 yards per kick.
Southwest Onslow’s Jamaal Williams was picked at kick returner after tying a state record with seven punt returns for touchdowns. Havelock’s Danny Webster Jr. rounded out the team at athlete after throwing for 2,700 yards, running for nearly 1,500 and tallying six interceptions on defense.