All-Area Soccer Team loaded with talent|Big-time scorers to defensive specialists highlight squad

Published 3:50 pm Sunday, January 10, 2010

Sports Editor

Sensational scoring threats like Northside’s Taylor Woolard, Washington’s Bladimir Romero and Southside’s Josh Sheppard put on an offensive display throughout the soccer season. Whether they were rocket shots from 25 yards out, or blasts from in front of the net, they helped light up the scoreboard and the soccer season in 2009.
Equally impressive were the exploits of Pam Pack goalie Steven Worsley, who made a number of terrific saves in the box. His athleticism, quick feet and soft hands frustrated several opponents over the course of the season.
Those four players are part of the 2009 WDN All-Area Soccer Team.
Woolard, named the 2009 WDN Soccer Player of the Year and the Four Rivers Conference Player of the Year, helped lead the Northside Panthers to a 12-7 record and a berth into the N.C. High School Athletic Association state playoffs. The junior forward finished with 26 goals and 10 assists.
Romero, who received Coastal Conference honors, used his foot to help the Pam Pack notch an 11-11-1 record. The forward finished second all-time in goals at Washington with over 50 to his credit.
Worsley, also an all-conference selection, was solid in goal all year for the Pam Pack. Facing off against the likes of top-ranked Jacksonville and always-strong White Oak, Worsley saved his best for one of his last, recording a shutout in Washington’s 3-0 win over Currituck in the first round of the state playoffs.
Sheppard played a huge role in leading the Southside Seahawks to an 11-8 mark and a trip to the playoffs. The forward, named the Offensive MVP of the Seahawks, finished with 26 goals.
The three First Team defensive standouts are Southside’s John Williams, Southside’s Hayden Huggins and Terra Ceia’s Blake Butcher. Williams was named the MVP of the Seahawks while Huggins was tabbed the Defensive MVP. Butcher did a fantastic job on defense all season for the Knights, helping them finish with a winning record.
Joining Woolard, Romero and Sheppard as First Team forwards are Southside’s Michael Ward, Northside’s Gabe Cota, and Terra Ceia’s Austin Van Vuren and Thaddeus Van Essendelft.
Ward, who received the Coaches’ Award, tallied 15 goals for the Seahawks. Cota, an all-conference pick, had 12 goals and 12 assists. Van Vuren had 29 points for the Knights while Van Essendelft was also a scoring threat and solid ball distributor.
Cecelio Cota, the goalie for the Northside Panthers, headlines the Second Team. He finished the year with 72 saves.
The Second Team defensive standouts are Washington’s Hernan Perez, Southside’s Allen Hobbs and Northside’s Ryan Hart.
The forwards are Washington’s Nick Hardy (17 goals, 10 assists), Jimmy Hardison (10 goals, 10 assists) and T.J. Crompton, Northside’s Angel Elenes, Terra Ceia’s Andy Bowen and Andrew Darkow, and Williamston’s Matt Harrell.
Player of the Year: Taylor Woolard, Northside
G – Steven Worsley, Washington
D – John Williams, Southside
D – Hayden Huggins, Southside
D – Blake Butcher, Terra Ceia
F – Taylor Woolard, Northside
F – Bladimir Romero, Washington
F – Josh Sheppard, Southside
F – Michael Ward, Southside
F – Gabe Cota, Northside
F – Austin Van Vuren, Terra Ceia
F – Thaddeus Van Essendelft, Terra Ceia
G – Cecelio Cota, Northside
D – Hernan Perez, Washington
D – Allen Hobbs, Southside
D – Ryan Hart, Northside
F – Nick Hardy, Washington
F – Jimmy Hardison, Washington
F – T.J. Crompton, Washington
F – Angel Elenes, Northside
F – Andy Bowen, Terra Ceia
F – Andrew Darkow, Terra Ceia
F – Matt Harrell, Williamston
Edwin Garcia
Thomas Sutton
James Lewis
Luis Rivera
Billy Harding
Bailey Hobbs
Cody Jackson
Cash Green
Kiam Boerema
Andy Bowen
Aaron Collins
Devon Rhodes
David Talley
Dylan Woolard