BCAC student show opens today

Published 7:35 am Sunday, March 28, 2010

Lifestyles & Features Editor

The annual Student Art Show hosted by the Beaufort County Arts Council opens today in the Washington Civic Center Gallery.
A reception is planned for 2 to 4 p.m. and the public is invited, according to BCAC Executive Director Joey Toler. The students’ artwork will remain on exhibit through April 30.
First South Bank sponsors the show, which showcases the talents of students from across Beaufort County.
“First South Bank’s involvement is vital to the show’s success,” Toler said. “This support helps us present a quality exhibit for these young artists, and for the public, too.”
As is tradition, a cash prize is awarded to an outstanding piece entered by a high school senior. The prize is donated by First South Bank.
Southside High School’s Lauren Jean Rumer takes top honors this year for her three-dimensional piece, titled “Dalinian Sculpture.”
Other winners, according to a list provided by the Arts Council, include:
Kindergarten — Mallory Bowen, Braxton Boyd, Aliyah Jones, Rafael Perez, Kaylee Ramirez and Terri Soper, Bath Elementary; Meredith Clements, DaeJuan Cooper, Samantha Squires, Northeast Elementary; Marla Cutler, Chocowinity Primary; Baseer Hawkins, Eastern Elementary; and Alaura Woolrich, S.W. Snowden Elementary;
First grade — Alyssa Ballance, Jasper Clark and Sarah Petty, Chocowinity Primary; McKenna Beacham and Cassie Buck, Northeast Elementary; Michael Brooks, Cameron Craig, Katie Godley and Bruno Maldonado, Bath Elementary; Chantile Gibson, Emma Tucker and Jordan Woolard, Eastern Elementary;
Second grade — Bailey Adams, Allie Dickenson and Brianna Sullivan, Chocowinity Primary; Jenny Allen, Stewart Hopper, Dasha Redmond and Abbigail Tucker, John Cotten Tayloe Elementary; Hope Barber, Zachary Douglas and MacKenzie Rouse, Bath Elementary; Addison Hamm, Northeast Elementary; and Kejasia Midgette, S.W. Snowden Elementary;
Third grade — Jessica Foster, Northeast Elementary; Victoria Hernandez, Chocowinity Primary; Logan Jefferson, Amber Midyette, Mattie Respess and Hayden White, Bath Elementary; Lillian King, Chocowinity Primary; Giselle Madero, Sam Martin and Carla Rosario, John Cotten Tayloe Elementary; and Rakeda Stevenson, S.W. Snowden Elementary;
Fourth grade — Emily Amend, Kevin Avila, Jasmine Garcia, Grant Jansen, Chocowinity Primary; Cameron Cahoon, Holly Latham, Landon Ormond and Mackenzie Seiler, Bath Elementary; Harley Jaquette, Kenzie Woolard and Chyna Lopez, John Small; and David Plasencia, Northeast Elementary;
Fifth grade — Ethan Consentino, Daniel Godley, Meredith Hernandez, Kacey Peardon, Madison Tankard and Madison Tetterton, Bath Elementary; Nicholas Crisp, Northeast Elementary; Mariela Lazaro Chavez and Zaire Johnson, John Small; Carolyna Padilla, Chocowinity Middle; and Latham Waters, Rainbow Christian Academy;
Sixth grade — Matthew Baxter, Chocowinity Middle; Jasmin Beddard, Carly Buckman, Lesley Castellano, Timia Ebron and Josh Padgett, P.S. Jones; Lashanya Dudley and Treveon Grimes, S.W. Snowden; Vividiana Hernandez and Madison Keech, Bath; and Conner Sawyer, Northeast;
Seventh grade — Rachel Alligood, Amy Arnold and Kymberleigh Brown, P.S. Jones; Nathan Dunbar, Northeast; Marlen Gomez, Marlin Gomez, Austin McGowan, Emily Perry and Harry Walker, Chocowinity Middle; Kellie Miller, Bath; and April Olds, S.W. Snowden;
Eighth grade — Taylor Burbage and Zackery Woolard, Bath; Stephanie Comacho, Joseph Cornelius and Dale Russ, Northeast; Rachel Evans and Brea Moore, Chocowinity Middle; and Ashanti Ebron, Taylor Lewis, Kaitlyn Mitchell, Elijah Randall and Yamilex Rosado, P.S. Jones;
High school freshmen — Robin Thompson, Washington (first); David Rowe, Southside (second); Macy Paramore, Southside (third); and Kyle White, Southside (honorable mention);
High school sophomores — Kristina Norment, Southside (first); Mallory Beddard, Southside (second); Trinidad Hernandez, Southside (third); and Katisha Hyman, Southside; Kara Carawan, Southside; Corey Waters, Washington (honorable mention);
High school juniors — Allie Evans, Washington (first); Kristi Wood, Washington (second); Jazzmin Moore, Washington (third); and Kaitlyn Corey, Washington; Jenna Staats, Southside; Katie Smith, Northside; Evelyn Vargas, Southside; and Kristi Wood, Washington (honorable mention);
High school seniors — Stacey Mayer, Washington (first); Luis Rivera, Northside (second); Lauren Jean Rumer, Southside (third); and Jaynee Boyd, Pungo Christian Academy; Brittany Daniels, Northside; D’Anna Ferrell, Southside; Cody Furlough, Washington; Stacey Mayer, Washington; Jodie Rouse, Washington; Lauren Jean Rumer, Southside; and Lee Warner, Pungo Christian Academy (honorable mention).
Washington Civic Center Gallery hours are Tuesday through Friday, 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. The Civic Center is occasionally closed for private functions, so the public is encouraged to call 252-946-2504 in advance to verify gallery hours, or for more information.