Joseph headed to the Giants|Pirates' DT taken in second round

Published 12:34 pm Saturday, April 24, 2010

By Staff
ECU Sports Information
GREENVILLE – East Carolina defensive tackle Linval Joseph was selected by the New York Giants in the second round (46th overall) of the 2010 National Football League Draft Friday.
With his selection, Joseph matches former Pirate linebacker Jody Schulz, who was also a 46th overall pick in 1983, as ECU’s second-highest defensive draft choice ever behind 1992 first-round selection Robert Jones.
Joseph also becomes the first Pirate defender chosen since end Rod Coleman was picked by the Oakland Raiders in the fifth round in 1999 and immediately follows tight end Davon Drew, who was taken by the Baltimore Ravens in the fifth round of the 2009 draft. The Pirates have had at least one player chosen in the last five consecutive years and in 16 of the past 21 drafts.
Joseph, who officially announced Jan. 19 that he would forego his senior season and enter this year’s draft, helped guide the Pirates to a combined 26 victories, three-straight bowl game appearances and back-to-back conference titles for the first time since the 1972 and 1973 seasons.
The Santa Fe (Fla.) High School product was a two-time All-Conference USA performer who recorded 60 tackles in 2009 – a team-high 13.0 coming behind the line of scrimmage for lost yardage. He was credited with five or more stops on six occasions and was the unit’s co-leader with 14 quarterback hurries, tallying a combined six in division and conference championship-clinching wins against Southern Miss and Houston.
In 41 career games, Joseph booked a total of 143 tackles, 29.5 TFLs and 6.5 sacks.
 Joseph, who will turn 22 on October 10, is one of six defensive linemen to have been drafted in ECU history along with Coleman, DE Ernie Logan (Falcons/1991), DE Steve Hamilton (Redskins/1984), DE Hal Stephens (Rams/1984) and DE George Crump (Patriots/1982).
Including Joseph, other Pirates selected by the New York Giants include QB Carl Summerell (1974), RB Eddie Hicks (1979), DB Clint Harris (1984) and OT Guy Whimper (2006).