Northside holds Awards night|McCullor, Harris named to athletes

Published 8:06 pm Sunday, May 30, 2010

By Staff
Contributed Reports
YEATESVILLE — Northside High School held its annual athletic banquet on Thursday night as they hosted a record attendance of athletes, parents and community supporters.
In celebration of another year of athletic achievements the athletes were honored by a catered meal compliments of the NHS Booster Club.
Athletic Director Keith Boyd opened the ceremony by extending an overwhelming round of appreciation for our parents. Coach Boyd recognized that behind each successful athlete stand a support group. Additionally, Mr. Jay Mason was given a strong round of applause for his years of service as the Northside Booster’s Club President, while recognizing the incoming president, Mr. Butch Oliver.
Northside High School Coaching Staff, Booster’s Club and parents would like to recognize the following athletes for their following achievements during the 2009 – 2010 athletic seasons.
Athlete of the Year
Male: Isaiah McCullor
Female: Elizabeth Harris
Marine Athletic Award
Male: Taylor Woolard
Female: Ashley Ratcliffe
Army Athletic Award
Male: Bryant Fletcher
Female: Amanda Daw
Scholar Athletic of the Year
Male: Shawn Murphy
Female: Katie Bowen &Whitney Lewis
Fall Sports
JV Volleyball (Head Coach Tami Wagaman)
– Best Digger: Mariah Hawkins
– JV MVP: Caroline Slade
– Gold Star Award: Britney Alligood
Varsity Volleyball (Head Coach Tami Wagaman)
– Rookie of the Year: Jordan Woolard
– Most Improved: Rachel Hollowell
– Coaches Award: Shannon Cuthrell
– Varsity MVP: Whitney Lewis
Cross Country
Cross Country (Head Coach Charlie Woolard)
– Will to Win: Ray Alonso
– Rookie of the Year: Hayley Jones
– Most Improved: Male – Jonathan Dupree; Female – Paige Dickinson
– Unsung Hero: Male – Alex Cutler; Female – Orianna Phillips
– Coaches Award: Male – Doug Wagg;Female – Katie Bowe
– Male MVP: Bryant Fletcher
– Female MVP: Ashley Ratcliffe
Soccer (Head Coach Billy Bunn)
– Offensive P.O.Y.
– Led team in goals: Taylor Woolard
– Defensive P.O.Y.
– Goal Keeper with countless saves: Cecelio Cota
– Best All Around: Gabriel Cota
– Coaches’ Award: Luis Rivera
– 2009-2010 Conference Player of the Year: Taylor Woolard
Varsity Football (Head Coach Keith Boyd)
– Offensive Back: DeMarques Martin
– Defensive Back: Petre Franks
– Lineman Award: Seth Boyd
– Leadership Award: Isaiah McCullor
– Heart of the Panther: Benji Taylor
– Coaches Award: TaMichael Tonge
Winter Sports
Cheerleading (Head Coach Kristy Christenberry)
– Most Concrete: Kayla Martinez
– Most Improved: Brandi Sawyer
– Most Spirited: Amber Beacham
– Most Versatile: Sam Beirne
– Outstanding Senior Award: Savannah Norman
– Outstanding Leadership Award: Captain Ariel Pinkham; Captain Kelly Winstead
Girls Basketball (Head Coach Michelle Leathers)
– Rookie of the Year: Britney Alligood
– Most Improved: Jordan Cooke
– Steal Award: Melinda Paniagua
– Offensive Award: Rochelle Davis
– Rebound Award: Rebekah Bonney
JV Basketball (Head Coach Michael Proctor)
– JV MVP: Christian Ange
Varsity Basketball (Head Coach Michael Proctor)
– Leadership: Calvin Cox
– Floor General: Damount Harvey
– Unsung Hero: Isaiah McCullor
– Coaches Award: Eric Collier
Spring Sports
Golf (Head Coach Dave Midkiff)
– Lowest Average: Colby Nixon
– Mr. Consistent: James Wilson
Track (Head Coach Kenneth Tyson)
– Outstanding Jumper Award: Male – DeMarques Martin; Female – Orianna Phillips
– Heart of the Panther Award: Male – Bryant Fletcher; Female – Ashley Ratcliffe
– Outstanding Sprinter Award: Derrick Warren
– Best All Around In Track Award: Michael O’Neal
Softball (Head Coach Louise Beirne)
– Outstanding Player Awards
Lilyann Arnold, Amanda Daw, Britney Alligood, Hannah Bowen, Jena Payne
Four Rivers Conference Softball Player of the Year: Amanda Daw
JV Baseball
JV Baseball (Head Coach Gil Robbins)
– Coaches Award: Caleb Coltrain
Varsity Baseball
Varsity Baseball (Head Coach Keith Boyd)
– Best All Around: Brandon Marsh
– Offensive Award: Tyler Woolard
– Defensive Award: Eric Collier
– Coaches Award: Justin Boyd