Anderson, Hudnell receive top honors

Published 5:24 pm Tuesday, September 21, 2010

By Staff
Staff Reports
A 20-year classroom veteran and a high-school principal whose school has seen substantial improvements in minority graduation rates were honored Monday for their efforts by Beaufort County Schools.
Dana Hudnell, a fourth-grade math and science teacher, was named Teacher of the Year for Beaufort County Schools, and Rick Anderson, principal at Southside High School, was named Principal of the Year during Monday night’s annual awards celebration at Washington High School.
Hudnell, a teacher at Northeast Elementary School, has served in her current position for two years.
Anderson has spent his entire 17-year education career with Beaufort County Schools. He has served as principal of Southside High School for three years.
“We are very proud of Mr. Anderson and Ms. Hudnell,” said Don Phipps, superintendent of Beaufort County Schools, in a press release announcing the awards. “They are both wonderful examples of the talent and dedication that can be found in our administrators and teachers in this county.” 
“It takes tremendous drive and a genuine passion for what you do to make a career out of either of these roles,” he said. “We are so fortunate such quality educators have made the young people of Beaufort County their priority.” 
Eastern Elementary School’s Roxanne Beeman, a 21-year classroom teacher, took the runner-up spot for Teacher of the Year. 
Lisa Tate, principal of John Small Elementary School, was chosen as runner-up for the Principal-of-the-Year title. 
Fourteen teachers, one from each school, competed for the title of Teacher of the Year. Once chosen by their peers at their respective schools, Teacher of the Year candidates completed portfolios and interviews with a local panel.
This year’s interview team included Judy Jennette, director of public relations for Beaufort County Community College, Valerie Quinn of Chocowinity and retired school administrator Ron Parrish of Bath. 
This is the second year of the newly formatted Principal of the Year award. Under the new criteria, administrators must have been on their current campus a minimum of two years to compete in the local competition and must meet state Principal of the Year requirements. Candidates were interviewed at their schools. Those scores were combined with results of an online survey, completed by their own staff members.
The Principal of the Year interview team included local businessman Mitchell St. Clair, retired school counselor Liz Hampton and John Conway, assistant superintendent of Beaufort County Schools.
The BCS Teacher of the Year and Principal of the Year move on to regional competitions, where winners advance to the state competitions.