SHS students honored

Published 12:09 am Wednesday, January 11, 2012

Alexis Jenkins was honored as Southside High School’s nominee to the Beaufort County Board of Education for showing the character traits of kindness and gratitude.

Other students nominated for these character traits, part of the Beaufort County Schools’ character education program, included Lisa Chapman, Brittney Shelton, Kadijah Boyd, Jake Hollowell, Rosiland Clark, Joshua Hardy, Shayonti Barua, Sierra Bonner, Rebekah Hodnett, Katie Teague, Zakiya Bryant, Joannie Williams, Lori Catherine Ball, C.J. Fisher, Nicole Cornelius, Austin Woolard, Jamerial Blackridge and Andrew Jones.

Southside faculty and staff also recognized students for respecting themselves and others, part of the SOAR initiative under the Positive Behavior Intervention Strategies program.

These students included Julio Burgos, Mark Knickerbocker, Darion Curlings, Tyler Stanbridge, Thomas Wainwright, Shayonti Barua, Cody Ingalls, Valarie Hodges, Kenitra Peele, Raeshon Arthur, Brandon Adams and Kendedra Williams.

All nominees were honored at a reception at the school Dec. 20.