SHS students honored

Published 8:27 pm Thursday, March 22, 2012

Brittney Shelton was honored as Southside High School’s nominee to the Beaufort County Board of Education for the character trait of honesty.

Other students nominated for this character trait, part of the Beaufort County Schools’ character education program, included Jametta Jones, Kyajia Mourning, Jordan Toomey, Corey Wiggins, Ryan Crawford, Joan Williams, Darion Curlings, Nicolshia Crawford, Ni’Quira Beasley, Tiara Lopez, Davante Latham, Samantha Lore, Taylor Hill and Tia Hardy.

Southside faculty and staff also recognized students for being on time and on task, part of the SOAR initiative under the PBIS (Positive Behavior Intervention Strategies) program. These students included Anthony Gladson, Shayonti Barua, Cheyenne Mayo, Ashley Fields, Trey Elks, Stephen McLawhorn, Jeremy Gonzales, Daniel Woolard, David Rowe, Edgar Hernandez, Chad Johnson, McKayla Aldridge, Kwa’Tarius Bailey, Celeste Jones, Brandon Adams, Ron Keyes, Raeshon Arthur and Tiana Corbett.

All nominees were honored at a reception Feb. 24 at the school.