FSA to hold elections

Published 10:53 pm Monday, July 2, 2012

Suzanne Murray, county executive director of the Beaufort-Hyde County Farm Service Agency, reminds farmers and landowners that the election of responsible agricultural producers to FSA county committees is important to all farmers and ranchers with large or small operations. It is crucial that every eligible producer take part in this election because county committees are a direct link between the farm community and the U.S. Department of Agriculture.
The COC is a grassroots approach to give farmers a much-needed say in how federal actions affect their communities and individual operations. The committee consists of elected members and advisors who are appointed by the State Committee to advocate for underrepresented groups and assist in outreach activities. The COC has four major areas of responsibility: equal opportunity, producers, programs and public information/outreach.
Murray reminds producers that the deadline is Aug. 1 for nominations for county committee elections.
Beaufort County LAA-3, which consists of Chocowinity and Richlands townships, is holding its election for a Beaufort County member to the county committee this year. LAA-3 is currently represented by Don Hill.
Hyde County LAA-4, which consists of Engelhard and Swan Quarter townships, is holding elections in Hyde County. LAA-4 is currently represented by Tony Carawan.
Nomination forms for the 2012 election must be postmarked or received by close of business in the local FSA county office by Aug. 1. The nomination form includes a statement that the nominee agrees to serve if elected and must be signed by the nominee.
Nomination forms are available at:
• http://www.fsa.usda.gov/elections. Scroll down to the links under “Elections Materials” and click “2012 Nomination Form”
• By picking up FSA-669A at your local FSA office
• By calling your local office and requesting FSA-669A be sent to you.
Call 252-946-1076, Ext. 2, for more information.