ECU swimmers and divers earn all-conference honors

Published 11:38 am Tuesday, March 4, 2014

ECU Athletic Media Relations

GREENVILLE — A total of 17 athletes from the East Carolina men’s and women’s swimming and diving teams were named All-Conference USA for their outstanding performances in last weekend’s conference meet. The top three swimmers in each event earned all-league honors.

Megan Sellers led the women’s team with four all-conference performances, including a first-place finish in the 100-yard breaststroke, setting a new Conference USA Championship meet and ECU varsity record with an NCAA B qualifying time of 1:00.42. She also earned all-league accolades in the 200-yard breaststroke, establishing a new school record, as well as the 200 and 400-yard medley relay.

Anastasia Amoiroglou received all-conference honors in the 50-yard freestyle and in each of the medley relays. Anna Gibas was also a part of both all-conference medley relay teams. Tori Angermeier obtained all-league honors as a part of 200-yard medley relay squad. The aforementioned foursome set the varsity record in the 200-yard medley relay.

Colleen Jones collected all-conference honors on the three-meter springboard.

For the men’s team, Nikola Simic earned all-league status in six events: 50 and 100-yard freestyle and all four relays; with NCAA B and varsity record times in both individual events.

Rokas Cepulis and Attila Kiraly were all-conference performers in three events. Kiraly captured gold in the 400 IM for the third time in four years and placed among the first three in the 200-yard backstroke and IM. Cepulis posted NCAA B qualifying times in the 200 IM as well as the 100 and 200-yard breaststroke en route to three medals.

Michael Dugan and Fran Krznaric each finished among the top three in two individual events and were a part of two all-conference relay teams. Dugan registered NCAA B times in the 200 and 500-yard freestyle, setting school records in each event, while Krznaric set the varsity record in the 200 IM and the freshman mark in the 400 IM.

Adam Dear, Julien Dodu, Shawn Hunter Trevor Irish and Andre Smedstad each received all-conference honors in a pair of events, while Alec Francis and Daniel Woods achieved all-league accolades in one event apiece.

In addition’s to Kiraly’s win in the 400 IM, ECU also claimed gold in the 400 and 800-yard freestyle relays, setting varsity records in both events.

In total, East Carolina posted 18 NCAA B qualifying times, set 15 varsity records and won four events.