Coastal Plains Conference releases All-Conference selections

Published 12:49 pm Tuesday, March 18, 2014




The Coastal Plains Conference released its All-Conference selections Tuesday with Northside sophomore Edrice Adebayo and East Carteret junior Jacque Brown receiving co-Player-of-the-Year honors.

Adebayo led the conference in points (24.3), rebounds (18.2) and blocks (4.1) per game, while Brown averaged 19.1 points, 5.6 rebounds and a conference-high 7.8 assists per game, all while leading his team to a 31-1 record.

Brown and Eastern champion East Carteret came just two points shy of finishing the season undefeated and winning its first state championship on Saturday, falling to Winston-Salem Prep in Chapel Hill, 72-71. Due to the team’s near perfect season, head coach Billy Anderson was awarded the Coastal Plains Conference Coach-of-the-Year. East Carteret’s Sam Johnson, who averaged a team-high 17.7 points per game, Ty Simmons and Trevor Willis earned All-Conference selections.

On top of Adebayo, Northside’s Jaquan Sessoms and Antonio Woods were also selected to the All-Conference team. Sessoms, one of head coach Michael Proctor’s senior leaders, averaged eight points and 2.2 assists per game, while Woods served as the secondary paint presence to Adebayo with 12.2 points and 5.1 rebounds per game. Northside forward Dazuan Jones received a honorable mention.

For Southside, junior Donshae Miller’s hard-nosed play and consistent perimeter shooting was duly noted this season, earning an All-Conference selection by averaging 18.9 points and 5.7 rebounds per game—all as a 5-foot-9 guard. Forward Isaiah Moore received an honorable mention.

Other All-Conference selections for the boys were Pamlico County’s Cameron Moore and Brad Bennett, Jones Senior’s K.D. McCall, Lejeune’s Elijah St. John and Bear Grass’ Derek Cox.

For the girls, Pamlico County’s three wins in the state tournament and 23-6 record earned head coach April Rose Coach-of-the-Year honors, while junior forward Alazia Whitfield took home Player-of-the-Year honors, averaging 12.9 points, 10.2 rebounds and a conference-high 3.9 blocks per game.

Northside’s Alex Adams earned an All-Conference selection with her 18.5 points, four rebounds and 4.7 steals per game. She led the conference in scoring.

Southside senior Breonna Blango was also recognized as an All-Conference selection, leading her team in scoring (12.6 ppg), as well as averaging 6.9 rebounds per game at the guard position.

Other All Conference selections were Pamlico County’s Briana Jones, Laichelle Sparrow and Leetasia Midgette, East Carteret’s LaShaunda Rogers and Meghan Nyberg, Jones Senior’s Franlena Brimage and Latrina Gatling, and Bear Grass’ Taylor Lilley.

Northside’s Albria Whitney, Kendall Alligood and Cheyenne Franks and Southside’s Kyajia Mourning and Rosiland Clark all earned honorable mentions.