ECBH and partners receive two awards

Published 2:31 pm Saturday, March 29, 2014



East Carolina Behavioral Health and collaborative partners recently garnered two awards from the NC Council for Programs of Excellence.

The winning award categories were in Excellence in Best Practices and in Consumer-Directed Supports.

Working with Promise Place, a sexual assault resource center for Craven, Jones and Pamlico Counties, ECBH organized sensory-based trauma therapy training for child and family practitioners throughout its 19-county service area in eastern NC. Approximately 60 professionals were trained in Structured Sensory Intervention for Traumatized Children, Adolescents and Parents ,developed by The National Institute for Trauma and Loss in Children.

The second award was given to ECBH and Recovery Innovations of NC for initiating the Peer-Supported Transitions program that directly employs individuals who are, or have been, in treatment to improve care to existing service recipients. Peer Support Specialists from RI’s Community Building Team are instrumental in supporting persons transitioning from long term care facilities to residences in communities of their choice. The ECBH Transitions to Community Living staff work closely with the Peers and ensure the people they serve have the care and resources they need to live successfully and as independently as possible.

“ECBH is honored to be recognized for these innovative community programs,” said Leza Wainwright, ECBH executive director. “These awards also reflect the evolution of our role from a local management entity to a managed care organization and the changes that have occurred in our behavioral health system. We are grateful to our collaborative partners for embracing the challenges to find new ways to address ongoing challenges.”

East Carolina Behavioral Health is a local management entity/managed care organization responsible for publicly funded behavioral health and intellectual/developmental disability services and supports for people living in northeastern North Carolina. The counties that comprise the ECBH area are Beaufort, Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Craven, Currituck, Dare, Gates, Hertford, Hyde, Jones, Martin, Northampton, Pamlico, Pasquotank, Perquimans, Pitt, Tyrrell and Washington.