Eastern Plains Conference announces winter award-winners

Published 11:51 am Wednesday, April 2, 2014




The Class 2-A Eastern Plains Conference announced its All-Conference teams, Players-of-the-Year and Coaches-of-the-Year for the 2013-2014 winter sports on Wednesday.

Headlining the list of award-winners is Pam Pack wrestling coach Daniel Riggs, who navigated a young team, fronted by a handful of senior leaders, to an 11-8 regular season record. The Pam Pack just missed a shot at this year’s state tournament. However, Riggs had a collection of wrestlers not only qualify for individual states, but exceed expectations on the mats.

The Pennsylvania native and Penn State graduate is known for his calm demeanor away from the mats, and his intense, motivational coaching style during Pam Pack practices and meets. This is the second time winner the award.

Riggs had 12 wrestlers qualify for the regional tournament at Farmville Central, and five wrestlers who qualified for individual states at the Greensboro Coliseum in February. Seniors Devon Van Cura and Jason Gardner both placed in their respective weight classes.

Freshman Jake Smith, junior Kyle Krajewski and seniors Thomas Remick and Van Cura all picked up All-Conference wrestling honors.

North Pitt’s Angel Najar, who finished a 51-2 and placed third in states, took home Conference Player-of-the-Year.

For boys’ basketball, super athlete Stevie Green was the only Pam Pack baller to earn All-Conference honors. Green averaged 20.3 points, 9.9 rebounds and two steals per game over his senior campaign.

Farmville Central’s Jake Ashorn took Player-of-the-Year honors, while his coach, Larry Williford, won Coach-of-the-Year.

In girls basketball, Washington had a much better showing with two players earning All-Conference recognition: junior Abby Walker and senior Sheema Blount, who led the Pam Pack in scoring at a 13.5 point per game clip.

North Pitt’s Dorian Sharp, who led the conference in scoring and rebounding, won Eastern Plains Player-of-the-Year. The 6-foot Panthers’ sophomore averaged 16.1 points per game and 15.2 rebounds per game. Beddingfield’s Debra Pegram commanded her team to a perfect 10-0 conference record and earned Coach-of-the-Year honors.