Mid-East Commission installs new officers

Published 8:22 pm Tuesday, April 22, 2014



From the Mid-East Commission


The Mid-East Commission is pleased to announce the installation of the following officers to its executive board: Walter Willet, chair (Parmele, Martin County); Dayle Vaughan, first vice chair (Lewiston-Woodville, Bertie County); Theresa Cieslinski, second vice chair (Farmville, Pitt County); Charles “Tony” Hammond, secretary (Ahoskie, Hertford County) and Louise Furman, treasurer (Chocowinity, Beaufort County).

The annual meeting was held at the Deadwood Restaurant in Bear Grass, Martin County. Attending were individuals from the member governments of Beaufort, Bertie, Hertford, Martin and Pitt Counties. The speaker of the evening was Patrick Woodie, acting president, N.C. Rural Economic Development Center, Inc.

The mission of the Mid-East Commission is to enhance the ability of local governments to successfully improve the quality of life for area citizens. The Commission, in an effort to facilitate positive local and regional change, provides leadership in technical assistance, planning, program management and development, and public-private partnerships.