Annual convention draws crowd

Published 11:02 pm Saturday, April 18, 2015

From the Beaufort County Democratic Party

The Beaufort County Democrats held their annual convention on April 11. A multitude of party faithful filled the Beaufort County Courthouse.

Patsy Keever, chair of the North Carolina State Democratic Party was the keynote speaker. Laurel Miller past county chair had the honor of introducing the state chair.

There are a hundred other counties where she could be today but she chose Beaufort County on this very special day.

Keever addressed the crowd and spoke frankly about recent loses to the party.

“We have had our losses, we know that people need help, public education needs help, we need to take back our state and I am here in Beaufort County because we need to get started right here and right now,” Keever said.
She challenged the crowd to get organized, find good candidates and help finance those candidates.
“We are the party that has compassion in our hearts we want to help other people, we want to lower taxes, our message is right and we need to get it out and be proud to be Democrats,” Keever said.

The event was closed by a most rousing speech by County Commissioner Jerry Langley. Langley spoke with compassion, conviction and grit, bringing those in attendance to their feet. Langley said that folks should not be misled by those saying vote for the “Christian conservative.” He said that Christians help the hungry and the needy. He reminded party faithful of the devastating cuts that have adversely affected our sick, needy and poor. Langley said he was proud to be a Democrat.

“We are the party of inclusion; we do not push people away, we draw them near,” he said. He went on to share the words inscribed on the Statue of Liberty, ”Give me your tired, your poor, your huddled masses yearning to breathe free, the wretched refuse of your teeming shore. Send these, the homeless, tempest-tossed to me. I lift my lamp beside the golden door.”

Langley added that is our message as Democrats, that is who we are and what we do.

Elections were held for new officers of the party, and the following were elected: Chair, Cathy Gaynor; Jim Smith, first vice chair; Serena Gaynor, second vice chair; Chelsey Harris, third vice chair; Laurel Miller, secretary; and Surry Everett, treasurer. Delegates were elected to numerous positions throughout the party at the event.