Voters head to the polls for municipal elections

Published 6:58 pm Monday, November 2, 2015

Polls across Beaufort County open at 6:30 a.m. today, giving residents an opportunity to cast their ballots for their choice of officials in the 2015 municipal elections.

Turnout during One-Stop voting was low, according to Beaufort County Board of Elections Director Kellie Hopkins. A total of 384 votes of more than 9,000 available were cast from Oct. 22 to Oct. 31, with Washington residents doing the majority of that voting.

The Board of Elections will not be open for voting on Election Day, Hopkins said. Instead, voters are able to vote at their local precincts.

Hopkins said ID is not required for this year’s election — the Voter ID law does not take effect until 2016.

Three out of seven Beaufort County municipalities feature uncontested races: Bath, Washington Park, and Pantego, where there are five commissioners’ seats available but only four candidates on the ballot. Pantego resident Richard Lilley, however, has launched a write-in campaign for the seat vacated by the Aug. 3 death of Commissioner Robert Edwards, according to Hopkins.

Contested races include those in Aurora, Belhaven, Chocowinity and Washington.

In Aurora, incumbent W.C. Boyd Jr., John Farrow and Jimbo Ireland are vying for two seats on the Board of Commissioners. In Belhaven’s hotly contested election, Charles Boyette, incumbent Vic Cox, Shane Hubers and Amos Wilson are running for two alderman east seats; Ricky Credle and incumbent Robert L. Stanley are competing for one alderman west seat; and incumbent Adam O’Neal and Ricky Radcliffe are in the race for Belhaven mayor. In Chocowinity, Curt Jenkins and Casey Langley are running against long-term incumbent commissioners Milford “Red” Dunbar and Arlene D. Jones. Seven Washington residents are running for five available city council seats: incumbents Larry Beeman, Richard Brooks, Doug Mercer and William Pitt, and Ty Carter, Gil Davis and Virginia Finnerty. Ronald Lundy is running for Washington mayor against the incumbent Mac Hodges.

All precincts will be open from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. today. Visit, the Daily News’ Facebook page or follow the Daily News on Twitter @wdnweb for election returns as they come in.


Where to Vote:

(Washington voters should go to their regular precinct)


Aurora Precinct

Aurora Community Building

442 3rd St.

Aurora, NC 27806


Belhaven Precinct

John A. Wilkinson Center

144 W. Main St.

Belhaven, NC 27810


Chocowinity Precinct

Chocowinity Fire Department

512 E. NC Highway 33

Chocowinity, NC 27817


Pantego Precinct

Pantego Municipal Building

142 Swamp Road

Pantego, NC 17860


Surry-Bath Precinct

Bath Ruritan Building

504 Carteret St.

Bath, NC 27808


Washington-Ward 1 Precinct

Red Men’s Lodge

403 E. 3rd St.

Washington, NC 27889


Washington-Ward 2 Precinct

Washington Fire Department

410 N. Market St.

Washington, NC 27889


P.S. Jones-Washington-Ward 3 Precinct

Beaufort County Boys and Girls Club

1089 Bridge St.

Washington, NC 27889


Washington-Ward 4 Precinct

Seventh St. Recreation Center

231 E. 7th St.

Washington, NC 27889


Washington Park Precinct

Washington Park Municipal Building

408 Fairview Avenue

Washington, NC 27889