NCDMV rolls out higher fees for 2016

Published 11:28 pm Sunday, January 3, 2016

From the North Carolina Department of Transportation

RALEIGH – The North Carolina Division of Motor Vehicles is encouraging customers to plan ahead for increased fees for many driver and vehicle services that became effective with the new year. To upload the new fee schedule, the NCDMV online services website temporarily closed on New Year’s Eve. The website returned to service at 12:01 a.m. on Jan. 1 with the new fees in place.

The NCDMV online services website offers vehicle registration renewals, driver’s license renewals, orders for duplicate vehicle registration cards or driver’s licenses, requests for driving records, payments for insurance lapses and orders for personalized and special license plates.

The new fees were drafted and passed by the N.C. General Assembly in budget appropriations legislation, House Bill 97. They reflect the first DMV fee increases in 11 years. The legislation applies to vehicle titles and registrations, as well as driver’s license issuances and renewals, on or after Jan. 1. After that date, interest charged on late registration fees will also be calculated on the new fee amount.

For example, standard Class C driver’s licenses increased by $1 for each year issued, making an eight-year license $40 and a five-year license card $25; standard ID cards are $13. Vehicle registration increased by $8, making the annual registration fee for a standard private passenger vehicle $36.

Other changes include the elimination of the 10-Day Trip Permit. Instead, vehicles that require temporary registration for transfers, sales, travel or inspections will be issued a 10-Day Temporary Registration Permit. As of Jan. 1, the temporary permit now costs $10 and must be notarized.

A fee schedule detailing the new fees is posted below:

North Carolina DMV Vehicle Fees


Certificate of Title $52

Corrected or Substitute Certificate of Title $20

Duplicate Certificate of Title $20

Duplicate Certificate of Title & Removal of Lien(s) or Duplicate Certificate of Title with Correction $20

Duplicate or Additional Registration Card $20

Duplicate Title with Reassignment $72

Failure to Transfer Title Within 28 Days $20

Financial Responsibility Civil Penalty $50, $100, $150

Financial Responsibility Restoration Fee $50

Financial Responsibility Service Fee $50

Instant Title $98

Manufacturer or Dealer Certificate of Title $20

Recording of Supplemental Lien(s) or Recording Assignment of Lien & Application of Transfer of Lien

Removal of Lien(s) from Certificate of Title $20

Replace Registration Plate $20

Repossessor Certificate of Title $20

Salvage Title (Form MVR-40 – Raleigh Office Only) $20

Stock Car Replacement $25

Transfer of Registration $20


On-Board Diagnostic Emissions Inspection $30

Safety Inspection $13.60


One Signature (Contract Agent) $5

One Signature (DMV State Office) $2

Two Signatures (Contract Agent) $6

Two Signatures (DMV State Office) $3

Three or More Signatures (Contract Agent) $7

Three or More Signatures (DMV State Office) $4

North Carolina DMV Driver’s License Fees


Class A License $5 per year

Class B License $5 per year

Class C License $5 per year

Motorcycle Endorsement $2.30 per year

Duplicate License $13


Learner Permit $20

Motorcycle Learner Permit $20

Duplicate Permit $13


Application Fee $40

CDL Endorsement (per endorsement) $4 per year

Class A License (CDL) $20 per year

Class B License (CDL) $20 per year

Class C License (CDL) $20 per year

Learner Permit (CDL) $20

Duplicate License $13


Limited Learner Permit (Level 1) $20

Limited Provisional License (Level 2) $20

Full Provisional License (Level 3) $5 per year

Duplicate $13