6 counties eligible for federal disaster assistance

Published 6:18 pm Wednesday, April 13, 2016

On March 30, US Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack declared a natural disaster in the State of North Carolina based on losses caused by excessive rain and flooding that occurred January 1, 2016, and continuing.  

As a result of this natural disaster, six counties were declared eligible for federal disaster assistance, including Farm Service Agency emergency loans for eligible family farmers.

Those primary disaster counties are: Beaufort, Dare, Hyde, Tyrrell, Washington and Wayne.

In addition, 16 more North Carolina counties are named as contiguous counties where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA emergency loan assistance.

The nearest of the 16 contiguous counties are: Bertie, Camden, Chowan, Currituck, Martin, Pamlico, Pasquotank, and Perquimans.

Effective March 30, farmers in the named counties may apply for emergency loans for physical and production losses. November 30, 2016, is the deadline for filing an application.

Any farmer who suffered a physical and production loss should contact his/her Farm Service Agency office for additional information.