3 republicans, 2 democrats running for Jones’ seat

Published 9:31 pm Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Three Republicans and two Democrats are running in the June 7 primary election for the US House of Representatives seat now held by Congressman Walter B. Jones.

The Republicans are Taylor Griffin, Jones, and Phil Law. The Democrats are David Hurst and Ernest Reeves.

Tyrrell voters, along with those in 21 other eastern counties, cast their ballots for the Third District seat in March, but the votes were not counted because a federal court had ordered the NC General Assembly  to redraw several congressional district boundaries.

The redrawn lines were subsequently approved, and June 7 was set as the date when political parties will nominate their candidates for the federal office.

Early, or one-stop, voting in the June 7 election runs through June 4 in the Tyrrell County Elections Office in the Courthouse. Hours are 9 to 5, except for the final day, June 4, when voting will cease at 1 p.m. Also, the Elections Office will be closed May 28-30.

The polls in the various Tyrrell precincts will be open 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. on Election Day, June 7.

Also on the June 7 ballot, Tyrrell voters may choose one of these four candidates in the nonpartisan election of an Associate Justice of the NC Supreme Court: Robert Edmunds, Sabra J. Faires, Michael R. (Mike) Morgan, or Daniel Robertson.