Board of Education Retreat

Published 2:19 pm Tuesday, February 6, 2018

The Tyrrell County Board of Education met Friday afternoon and Saturday, January 26-27, at the central office to discuss their beliefs about public education and the direction of the school system, Dr. Will Hoffman, superintendent, reported.

Board members prepared for the retreat by answering questions ranging from their view of the top three challenges TCS faces to why they chose to run for the board of education.

By the end of the Saturday session the Board had mapped out five core areas they believe are critical to the future of the school system: Equity, Safety, Community Engagement, Recruitment and Retention of Staff, and Teaching and Learning.

The Board will be developing core beliefs from these five areas that will drive the strategic planning process. Dr. Hoffman forecasted.

The Board of Education meets in regular session every first Monday at 5:30 p.m. in the central office at 1107 Highway 64 East in Columbia.

Board members are Lee Scripture (chairman), Carlos Armstrong, Karen Clough, Robin Dunbar, and Janie Spencer.