Primaries conclude tomorrow, final opportunity to vote

Published 10:58 am Monday, May 7, 2018

Voters go to the polls Tuesday to mark ballots in the primaries to determine political parties’ candidates for the Nov. 6 general election. Polls open at 6:30 a.m. and close at 7:30 p.m. at the county’s 21 precincts.

In Beaufort County, there are just a few primaries. One of those primaries will determine the Democratic candidate for Beaufort County sheriff. Another primary will decide the Republican candidate for the sheriff’s post. Voters will decide the Democratic nominee to run for the District 79 seat in the North Carolina House of Representatives. They will also select the Republican nominee in the contest for the 3rd Congressional District seat in the U.S. House of Representatives.

In Beaufort County, the three Democrats seeking to be their party’s nominee for sheriff are William Chrismon, Petre E. Franks and Al J. Whitney. The winner of that primary faces the winner of the Republican primary, which has incumbent Ernie Coleman facing a challenge from Donald Dixon.

The winner of the Democratic primary for state House District 79 — which has Jerry Langley, a Beaufort County commissioner, taking on Bryson Kiel Jones, a Craven County resident — faces Republican Keith Kidwell in the Nov. 6 general election. James Chesnutt, citing personal reasons, withdrew as a candidate in the Republican primary to choose the GOP nominee for the District 79 seat last month. Although he has withdrawn from that primary, Chesnutt’s name is on the ballot.

The GOP primary to pick that party’s nominee to represent the state’s 3rd District in the U.S. House of Representatives has incumbent Walter B. Jones Jr. facing challenges from Phil Law and Scott Charles Dacey. The winner of that contest moves on to the general election and faces no Democratic opposition.

As of Friday, 2,196 voters had market ballots during the early voting period. The early voting numbers for Saturday, the last day of the early voting period, were not publicly available at 4:30 p.m.