Retirees celebrate cumulative seven centuries of service

Published 11:36 pm Friday, June 1, 2018

Celebrating a cumulative 739 years of service to public education, Beaufort County Schools bid farewell to many of its longest-serving employees Thursday evening. A total of 33 retirees were honored during a program at the Beaufort County Ed Tech Center.

From teachers and administrators, to data managers and custodial staff, each of those honored devoted a significant portion of their lives to a noble pursuit: the education of Beaufort County’s children and youth.

“No matter what we do, or what training we have, there is absolutely no way to replace 739 years of experience,” BCS Superintendent Dr. Don Phipps told the retirees. “We are so grateful you spent that portion of time with us.”

In addition to a catered steak dinner, retirees were also presented with a BCS umbrella and a card allowing them lifetime free access to all BCS events, including athletic events, drama productions and concerts.

“I want to thank all of our retirees for their service and dedication to the adults with whom they served and the children who were the target of their service,” Phipps continued. “Regardless of the roles you had, your service is ultimately to the students of our school system. There is no doubt that each of you has had positive impacts on the lives of students. Much of that you may never know about, but one thing is certain: we are better, our students are better, our school system is better, and our communities are better because of your service.”

Those retiring from the school system include: Vanessa Bell, Marva Blount, Penny Brooks, Tonya Broome, Travis Carter, M.D. Coleman, James Cox, Jonita Dixon, Lillian Dudley, Audrey Edwards, Georgia Espino, Betty Jane Green, Betty Ham, Hope Keys, Cynthia Lovick, Deidra Mason, Pamela Mault, Martha Meeks, Karen Moore, Sharon Morris, Kathy Newman, Michele Oros, Tina Parsons, Penny Paul, Joyce Picott, Robbin Rees, Annette Sipe, Monika Smith, Brian Swain, Minnie Wainwright, Sandra Ward, Cedrick Whitfield and Pamela Wobbleton.