Soil-water board election filing period open

Published 7:56 pm Monday, June 25, 2018

The filing period for two seats on the board of supervisors for the Tyrrell County Soil & Water Conservation District is open until noon on July 6, Debbie Swain, elections director, announced.

The elections office in the courthouse in Columbia is open Monday, Wednesday and Friday from 9 a.m. to 3 p.m.

The terms of Mittie Hamilton and Carl Jones are expiring, and Hamilton is not seeking re-election, Ty Fleming, district administrator/technician said.

The election to the nonpartisan board will be November 6, and the four-year terms will begin December 1.

Wesley Hopkins is the third elected board member, and his term ends in 2020.

Board members Eric Brown and Trey Liverman are appointed by the three elected members, and Liverman’s term ends this fall, Fleming said.