Farm Service Agency committee nomination period is open

Published 4:50 pm Monday, July 2, 2018

The nominating period is now open for the Tyrrell-Dare Farm Service Agency (FSA) county committee.

The current committee members are Don Spruill, Chris Hopkins and Jordan Davis.

Davis has chosen not to seek reelection in the communities of Dare County, Creeks and Cross Landing, stated Wendy Modlin, local FSA executive director.

FSA county committees operate within federal regulations and provide local input on: income safety-net loans and payments, including setting county average yields for commodities; conservation programs; incentive, indemnity and disaster payments for some commodities; emergency programs; and payment eligibility.

Agricultural producers who participate or cooperate in an FSA program may be nominated for candidacy for the county office. Individuals may nominate themselves or others as a candidate. In addition, organizations representing underserved (minority and women) farmers or ranchers may nominate candidates.

To become a nominee, eligible individuals must sign nomination form FSA-669A, which includes a statement that the nominee agrees to serve if elected. Nomination forms are available at the FSA county office or online at

All nomination forms for the 2018 election must be postmarked or received in the local FSA county office by August 1.

For more information contact Tyrrell-Dare County FSA, 155 L. A. Keiser Drive, Columbia, telephone 252-796-3701.