Cayton takes district court judge race

Published 11:58 pm Tuesday, November 6, 2018

After a highly contested race, District Court Judge Darrell B. Cayton Jr. will retain the seat he was appointed to in 2011.

After all precincts had reported, only 33 votes separated two district court judge candidates in Beaufort County’s unofficial vote count. The race for Second Judicial District Court Judge, Seat 1, brought in 9,246 Beaufort County votes for Republican challenger Sarah Homes, a Hyde County magistrate, while incumbent District Court Judge Darrell B. Cayton Jr., a Democrat, tallied 9,212 votes in Beaufort County.

The Second Judicial District covers Beaufort, Hyde, Martin, Tyrrell and Washington counties. While Homes took Beaufort County by the very slim margin, in Hyde, Martin, Tyrell and Washington counties, Cayton came out on top.

Final unofficial results broken down by county were:

  • Hyde: Cayton, 1,028; Homes, 851
  • Martin: Cayton, 5,181; Homes, 3,711
  • Tyrrell: Cayton, 706; Homes, 564
  • Washington: Cayton, 2,820; Homes, 1,796

As of Wednesday afternoon, 99.96 percent of precincts in the five counties, or 2,705 out of 2,706, had reported to the North Carolina State Board of Elections, with Cayton in the lead with 18,947 votes, or 53.96 percent. Homes trailed with 46.04 percent of votes, or 16,168.

Cayton got his start in law with Washington law firm Gaskins & Gaskins in 1987 and was a solo practitioner for 20 years before being appointed District Court Judge. Homes has worked as an Assistant District Attorney and solo practitioner before becoming a magistrate.

In addition to the District Court Judge, District 2, Seat 1, race, four more Second Judicial District seats went unopposed. District Attorney Seth Edwards, Superior Court Judge Wayland Sermons Jr., Clerk of Court Marty Paramore and District Court Judge Regina Parker, all Democrats, retain their positions.

All votes counts are unofficial until canvassing is complete. Canvassing begins Nov. 16.