Hyde and Washington county farmers eligible for disaster loans

Published 6:28 pm Tuesday, November 6, 2018

Farmers in Hyde and Washington counties were added to the growing list of those eligible for Farm Service Agency loans as a result of production losses attributed to Hurricane Florence, Dare-Tyrrell FSA director Wendy Modling has announced.

On October  24, President Trump declared a major disaster in North Carolina based on  losses caused by Hurricane Florence that occurred September 7-29.

Five counties, including Tyrrell, were declared eligible for Federal disaster assistance, including Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency (EM) loans for eligible family farmers.

In addition to the 5 primary disaster counties, 19 additional North Carolina counties are named as contiguous counties where eligible family farmers may qualify for FSA EM loan assistance, in accordance with Section 321(a) of the Consolidated Farm and Rural Development Act.

Those counties include Hyde and Washington in the eastern part of the state.

June 24, 2019, is the deadline for filing an application.

The local office is located at 155 L. A. Keiser Drive in Columbia and has office hours of 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.