Tyrrell board to hold special meeting

Published 9:44 am Tuesday, November 20, 2018

The Tyrrell County Board of Commissioners will hold a special meeting at 10 a.m. on Monday, December 3, to approve the sheriff-elect’s bond and any other items that may come before the board, Penny Owens, board clerk, announced.

Sgt. Kevin Sawyer was elected Nov. 6 to succeed retiring Sheriff Darryl Liverman.

The commissioners will meet again at 1 p.m. the following day to witness the swearing in of Commissioners Nina Basnight Griswell for another term and of newcomer Jordan Davis, who will succeed retiring Chairman Leroy Spivey. The board will then elect a chairman and vice chairman for one-year terms and proceed to transact other business.

The public is invited to attend both meetings to be held in the Board of Commissioners conference room at 106 South Water Street, Columbia. Owens can be reached at 252-796-1371, extension 2621.