Chamber announces annual awards

Published 10:49 pm Thursday, January 31, 2019

The Washington-Beaufort County Chamber of Commerce gathered at the Turnage Theatre Thursday evening for its annual banquet. During the event, eight of Beaufort County’s top leaders were recognized in a variety of fields from business to volunteerism. For complete details and photos from the event, see the weekend edition of the Washington Daily News. The 2019 Chamber award winners are:

Young professional of the Year — Justin Pate, of Ribeyes

Non-profit of the Year — Marion L. Sheppard Cancer Center/Foundation

Citizen of the Year — Nikki Klapp and family, of Darleen’s Flamingo 5K

Entrepreneur of the Year — Joan and Roger Meyland of Grub Brothers and The Bank Bistro

Agriculture Leader Award — Gerard Seed/Riverside Grain — Walt Gerard

Community Impact Award — Moss Landing, Beacon Street, Terry Smithwick and Bryon Lyons

Community Leader of the Year — Cypress Landing Community

Business of the Year — Acre Station Meat Farm