Alpha Omega Chapter wins awards at Eta State Convention

Published 2:38 pm Sunday, May 19, 2019


When Eta State celebrated its 85th year in Hickory on May 4-6, chapters celebrated achievements and recognized leaders from chapters throughout the state.

Betty Cochran, a member of Delta Kappa Gamma’s Alpha Omega Chapter in Beaufort and Hyde counties was awarded the Golden Key award for her work in leadership and in supporting roles. Betty is a 30-year member who has served two terms as president and in 2004 updated and published the Alpha Omega Chapter history.

A native of Texas who has lived in Beaufort County since 1964, Betty taught at Bath High School in the 1960s and for 30 years at Beaufort County Community College, where she served as chairperson of the Division of Arts and Sciences. Betty is active in St. Peter’s Episcopal Church, and in 1957, updated and published the history of the church. She also updated published the history of the Episcopal Church women in 2004. She has served on committees at the local and Diocesan level and in 2018 was a delegate to Triennial in Austin, Texas.

The Alpha Omega Chapter received awards for website and for chapter newsletter. Alpha Omega also received honorable mention for Chapter Achievement Award. These awards reflect the hard work and creativity of chapter members. Chapter president is Linda Beddard, and the newsletter editor is Jane Griffin, who has won the newsletter award on previous occasions.

Chapters compete in a positive way to fulfill Alpha Omega goals and to promote communication among members. Alpha Omega Chapter awards scholarships each year to high school graduates who plan to become teachers, and it supports teachers seeking to earn higher degrees or national certification. Most schools in Beaufort and Hyde counties have women teachers who are member of Delta Kappa Gamma.