Burn ban issued for 18 North Carolina counties

Published 8:38 am Saturday, June 1, 2019


Washington Daily News

With a lack of rain and an abundance of heat, the weather has increased the fire risk for eastern North Carolina.

The North Carolina Fire Service has issued an indefinite open burning ban starting May 30. Due to recent dry conditions, the current ban affects 18 counties along the state’s east coast, including Beaufort County.

According to the state’s Fire Service, the ban prohibits all open burning, including burning both plant and non-plant material, such as newspaper, tires or trash. It also suspends any burning permits until the ban is lifted.

Anyone responsible for setting a fire, permit or no permit, may be liable to pay for all related damages. Violators will also be subject to a $100 fine and court costs.

The state burn ban does not apply to fires burned within 100 feet of an occupied building. However, if a fire spreads outside of that radius, violators will be subject to the same penalties.

If a burn ban is also issued from Beaufort County’s fire marshal, Curtis Avery, in the future, it would prohibit all fires within the 100-foot radius, which may affect summer grilling plans.

Other counties affected by the state burn ban include Bladen, Brunswick, Carteret, Columbus, Craven, Dare, Duplin, Hyde, Jones, Lenoir, New Hanover, Onslow, Pamlico, Pender, Pitt, Tyrrell and Washington.

To report a wildfire, call 911.