Southside High School holds award banquet

Published 5:38 pm Thursday, June 6, 2019

CHOCOWINITY — The Southside Seahawks held their award banquet last week at the high school to present deserving student-athletes with awards for the spring athletics season.


Girls: Destiny Award, Coaches Award; Alexis Whitehurst, Distance Award; Chelsey Hembey; Most Improved; Jacqueline Wood and Nytaziya Wishop, Most Valuable Players; Tashanti Ballance, Team MVP.

Boys: Victor Gonzalaz, Rookie of the Year; Davion McGraw, Rolando Carriago, Field MVP’s; Christian Brinkley, Track and Field MVP; Aeron Wright, Track MVP; Yahkiel White, Team MVP.


Marah Gottwalt, Most Valuable Player; Shantel Cannon, Outfield Award; Mallory Nobles, Infield Award; Madison Easley, Coaches Award.


Will Warren, Offensive Player of the Year; Dylan Humbles, Defensive Player of the Year; Davis Porter, Seahawk Baseball Award.


Carleigh Findley, Team Most Valuable Player; Sindy Chavez, Offensive Player of the Year; Sarah Petty, Offensive Player of the Year; Emily Gurganus, Defensive Player of the Year; Kaitlin Lewis, Most Improved; Saramina Perez, Coaches Award.


Trey Branch, Most Valuable Player; Luke Matthews, Coaches Award; Colt Dixon, Coaches Award;


Female Athlete Coaches Award

Carleigh Findley


Male Athlete Coaches Award

Davis Porter


Female Athlete of the Year:

Jaqueline Wood


Male Athlete of the Year

Luke Matthews


Bill Lake Memorial Scholarship winners

Kevin White, Luke Matthews, Madison Hudson and Hannah Ashby