Northside softball presents players with post-season awards

Published 6:10 pm Tuesday, June 18, 2019

PINETOWN — After an admirable, undefeated in-conference season from the diamond Panthers, multiple players were awarded for their hard work this past season. The Lady Panthers finished the year 16-5 (12-0 1A Coastal Plains Conference).

The Panthers had six all-conference selections in Cameron Rose — who led the team in batting average — Rylie Norman, Kathleen Slade, Madison Braddy, Teagan Pilgreen and Elyse Brinn.

ALL-CONFERENCE: Members of the Lady Panthers’ softball team, Rylie Norman (left) and Kathleen Slade (right) pose with their awards following the softball banquet two weeks ago at Northside High School. Slade was also voted MVP of the team by her teammates. (Joanna Slade)


Taylor Chase and Logan Jefferson were awarded with all-conference honorable mention awards.

Rose was also awarded the team’s offense award. She batted .566 in her junior campaign with 30 RBIs and 22 runs with 11 doubles.

Kathleen Slade was voted Most Valuable Player by her teammates, as she turned in quality performances at the plate and in the circle this season, usually in relief.

Braddy was selected as all-conference Pitcher of the Year and won the team’s defense award. Braddy posted a 1.89 ERA in 85.1 innings pitched. She fanned 82 batters and only gave up 10 earned runs on the season.

Amelia Woolard was honored with the Coaches Award in her senior season. Head softball coach Eric Slade said Woolard became the vocal team leader with her upbeat and positive attitude during the season.

Coach Slade was awarded with the conference Coach of the Year honors. The Panthers will lose three seniors heading into next season: Jefferson, Pilgreen and Woolard.

LAST BANQUET: Northside’s Teagan Pilgreen (middle) soaks in the final awards banquet of her high school career with assistant coach Dennis Seiler (left) and head coach Eric Slade (right). Pilgreen was honored with all-conference, while Slade earned the conference Coach of the Year award.