Candidate filing opens Friday for municipal elections

Published 3:49 pm Wednesday, July 3, 2019

Ever considered a run for town council?

Well, now’s your chance. Being an odd-numbered year, positions will come open on every municipal board in Beaufort County this fall.

All it takes is $10, a trip to the Beaufort County Board of Elections and a little paperwork to get a name on the ballot. Candidate filing kicks off at noon Friday and continues through noon July 19.

In the City of Washington, all city council members and the mayor are all elected to two-year terms every other year. Voters in Washington will pick candidates for all five positions, as well as mayor. Council members with terms expiring in November include William Pitt, Richard Brooks, Roland Wyman, Virginia Finnerty and Doug Mercer, as well as Mayor Mac Hodges.

For Belhaven, which is subdivided into east-end and west-end voting districts, a total of four positions will be on the ballot. Town residents will choose a mayor and three aldermen this year, two from the east end and one from the west end. In addition to Mayor Ricky Credle, the terms of aldermen Mary Cox, Amos Wilson and Brenda Cherry are set to expire this year.

Chocowinity voters will see two positions on the ballot for town commissioner this year, seats currently occupied by Nathaniel Williams and Casey T. Langley.

Bath will elect both a mayor and two town commissioners to four-year terms this year, with Mayor Jimmy Latham and Commissioners Keith Tankard and John A. Taylor up for reelection, should they so choose.

In Aurora, the terms of town commissioners W.C. Boyd Jr. and John H. Farrow expire in November. Each of those town commissioner seats are up for grabs, with both carrying four year terms.

Washington Park, like Washington, will see all five commissioner positions up for election this fall, as the terms of commissioners Lee Bowen, Jeffery A. Peacock, Wade Dale, Patrick Nash and Belinda Cowell expire. The position of mayor, currently occupied by Tom Richter, will also appear on the ballot.

Pantego voters, likewise, will choose five commissioners and a mayor, all of whom are elected to two-year terms. The terms of commissioners Mart Benson, Reid Gelderman, Robert Lilley, Chad Keech and Charles “Chuck” Williams, as well as Pantego Mayor Stuart Ricks, expire at the end of the year.

In all the elections, voters in each municipality can choose as many candidates as positions are coming open. For example, in Washington Park, since all five seats on the town board of commissioners are open, voters will be able to choose up to five names on the ballot. The one-stop voting period for the municipal election will be Oct. 16 through Nov. 1, with Election Day falling on Nov. 5.

Candidate filing forms can be accessed online at, or in person at the Beaufort County Board of Elections. For more information, call the BOE at 252-946-2321 or email