20 file to run for municipal office, nine on the ballot in Washington

Published 5:15 pm Friday, July 12, 2019

With one week down and one more to go, 20 people in Beaufort County have filed to run for local municipal offices in November. Of the seven municipalities, the contest for Washington City Council is shaping up to be the most competitive race.

Including Washington Mayor Mac Hodges, nine people have filed to run for city office so far. Three challengers, Donald Sadler, Bobby Roberson and Mike Renn, will each attempt to claim a seat on the city council. Council incumbents William Pitt, Doug Mercer, Roland Wyman, Virginia Finnerty and Richard Brooks have all filed to run for reelection.

In Washington Park, all sitting aldermen have filed to seek another term. Commissioners Patrick Nash, Lee Bowen, Belinda Cowell, Jeffrey Peacock and Wade Dale, as well as Mayor Tom Richter, will all appear on the ballot.

Bath, Belhaven and Chocowinity also have seen mostly current office holders seeking reelection. Filing in Bath, Keith Tankard will run for commissioner, as will Nathaniel Williams in Chocowinity. Belhaven Mayor Ricky Credle and Alderman Brenda Cherry have also elected to run again, while newcomer James Lawler is seeking a place on the board.

As of Friday afternoon, no candidates had filed to run for offices in Pantego and Aurora. In the event that a municipality does not have enough candidates file to run for the amount of positions available, Beaufort County Board of Elections Deputy Director Anita Branch said filing would be extended for that municipality by one week.

“It is possible we could have a little rush at the end, but it won’t be a lot,” Branch said.

Filing began last Friday and continues through noon July 17. The cost to get one’s name on the ballot is $10. The following offices are up for election this year:

  • Aurora — Two commissioner seats;
  • Bath — Mayor and two commissioner seats;
  • Belhaven — Mayor and three aldermen seats, two east end and one west end;
  • Chocowinity — Two commissioner seats;
  • Pantego — Mayor and commissioner seats;
  • Washington Park — Mayor and five commissioner seats;
  • Washington — Mayor and five city council seats.

Prospective candidates for these offices can fill out the necessary paperwork at the Beaufort County Board of Elections, located at 1308 Highland Drive, Suite 104, Washington. For further information on filing, call the BOE at 252-946-2321 or email beaufort.boe@co.beaufort.nc.us.