Columbia aldermen reappoint two to planning board

Published 6:19 pm Wednesday, July 17, 2019

The Columbia Board of Aldermen on July 1 reappointed Raymond Etheridge and renominated James McClees to the town’s planning board.

To be effective, McClees’ nomination must be confirmed by the Tyrrell County Board of Commissioners because he represents an area up to one mile surrounding the town limits where state law allows the town government to exercise extra-territorial jurisdiction in planning, zoning and subdivision enforcement, and building inspection.

Town Manager Rhett White reported that Etheridge and McClees were willing to serve another term, and, on a motion by Mayor pro-tem Sandra Owens that passed unanimously, they were approved. Each is to serve a three-year term.

Other planning board members are Tim Nielsen and Janet Walker, whose terms end June 30, 2020, and Billie Ray Hill and Barbara J. Spencer, whose terms expire in 2021. Walker is board chairman.

The planning board also acts as the town’s Historic District Commission, regulating the exterior appearance of new construction and alterations in the waterfront, downtown, and older residential sections of the community.