Columbia incumbents file; deadline is noon Friday

Published 6:37 pm Wednesday, July 17, 2019

Incumbents Lloyd Armstrong and Sandra Owens have filed to keep their seats on the Columbia Board of Aldermen.

Candidate filing for the two offices ends at noon Friday, July 19.

Armstrong is seeking a second four-year term, and Owens, currently mayor pro-tem, is running for a fourth term. Their terms expire on December 1.

The municipal election will be held November 5.

Candidates must be at least 21 years old by the general election date and be a registered voter qualified to vote in an election for the office sought.

There are 264 registered voters in Columbia. The municipal election is non-partisan, and all seats are at-large.

You must be a resident of Columbia to vote in its elections.

For November’s election, the registration deadline is Oct. 11. Election Day is Tuesday, November 5, 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. in Tyrrell Hall, 906 Hwy 64 East.

Other Columbia aldermen, who terms end in 2021, are Hal Fleming, Suzanne Griffin, and Bryan Owens. Mayor James Cahoon’s term ends in 2021 also.