Early voting in congressional election ends Sept. 6

Published 3:31 pm Tuesday, August 27, 2019

One-stop, in-person early voting for the general election in North Carolina’s Third Congressional District is underway now and ends Friday, September 6.

The special election is necessary to fill the vacancy created by the death of Congressman Walter Jones this past Feb. 10.

The candidates (and their party affiliation) for U.S. House of Representatives for the unexpired term ending Jan. 3, 2021, are Allen Thomas, Democrat: Greg Murphy, Republican; Greg Holt, Constitution; and Tim Harris, Libertarian.

The early-voting period allows any registered voter to cast an absentee ballot in person in the county board of elections office in the courthouse in Columbia. The office is open 9-5 Monday through Friday. No early voting on Saturday will be allowed.

Early voting also offers “same-day registration,” which allows individuals eligible to vote who aren’t yet registered in Tyrrell County to register and vote at the same time.

Same-day registrants must complete a voter registration application and show an election official proof of their address.

In addition to in-person early voting, absentee voting by mail is available to all registered voters who request an absentee ballot by 5 p.m. Sept. 3.

Election Day is September 10. Voters who were registered as of the August 16 regular registration deadline may vote at their precinct on Election Day. Same-day registration is not available on Election Day (Sept. 10).

Precinct polling places in Tyrrell County will be open on Sept. 10 from 6:30 a.m. to 7:30 p.m. They are:

– Alligator: Alligator Fire Substation, 9720 Sound Side Road

– Columbia: Tyrrell Hall, 906 Hwy 64 East.

– Gum Neck: Tyrrell Sheriff’s Satellite Office, 2916 North Gum Neck Road (this is a new location for voting)

– Kilkenny: Nazareth Church of Christ, 21684 Hwy 94 South

– Scuppernong: Eastern 4-H Center, 100 North Clover Way

– South Fork: Eastern 4-H Center, 100 North Clover Way

Photo ID is not required in any election in 2019.

The Third Congressional District includes 17 counties and stretches from the Camp Lejeune area to the Virginia border. The District is one of 435 in the U.S. House of Representatives.