Tornado watch in effect for Beaufort County until 7 p.m.

Published 3:26 pm Thursday, September 5, 2019

The National Weather Service at Newport/Morehead City has issued a tornado watch for large portions of eastern North Carolina, including Beaufort County, until 7 p.m. on Thursday. Counties included in the watch are Beaufort, Cumberland, Edgecombe, Johnston, Martin, Pamlico, Tyrrell, Wilson, Carteret, Dare, Greene, Jones, Nash, Pitt, Washington, Craven, Duplin, Hyde, Lenoir, Onslow, Sampson and Wayne.

A tornado warning was briefly issued for portions of Beaufort County this afternoon, but has since expired.