Two new members join Tyrrell library board

Published 4:55 pm Thursday, September 12, 2019

The Tyrrell County Board of Commissioners recently appointed David Kitts and Flora Ann Patrick to the Tyrrell County Public Library Board of Trustees.

Other trustees are Nina Griswell, George Haislip, and Tobi Kirkman.

Trustees serve four-year terms, with a limit of two consecutive terms, and the board meets every other month, said Librarian Jared Jacavone. Trustees serve without per diem or travel reimbursement.

Tyrrell County Public Library offers:

  • Computers with Internet access and a variety of programs
  • Coin-operated color printers and photocopiers
  • Fax service
  • Historical and genealogical records
  • Interlibrary loan for access to materials from other libraries
  • Large print books
  • Spanish-language materials
  • Programs for children and adults
  • Notary Services
  • Income tax forms

The library is at 414 Main Street in Columbia, telephone 252-796-3771.  The e-mail address is:

Hours of operation are:

Monday, Wednesday, and Friday: 10 a.m. – 6 p.m.

Tuesday and Thursday: 10 a.m. – 8 p.m.

Saturday: 10 a.m. – 1 p.m.

Haislip and Griswell are also representatives to the Pettigrew Regional Library Board, which oversees the public libraries in Chowan, Perquimans, Tyrrell and Washington counties.