Tyrrell voter turnout was 37% in recent election

Published 5:57 pm Thursday, March 12, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Dorothy Spencer, Darryl Liverman, and Tommy Everett won the Democratic nomination for Tyrrell County commissioner in the Mar. 3 primary election, unofficial results released by the county board of elections show.

The nominees will compete in a six-way race against Republicans Seth Gibbs and Rob Thompson and Unaffiliated candidate Lawrence Swain in the Nov. 3 general election for three seats on the county board of commissioners. Everett and Swain are incumbents.

Democratic incumbent Carl Willis, who ran fourth, and challengers Joyce Sykes Fitch and Kisha Norman were eliminated.

Spencer, a political newcomer, led the ticket with 142 votes. Liverman garnered 134, and Everett got 125. Other totals were: Willis 76, Fitch 70, and Norman 40.

In a three-way race for two seats on the Tyrrell County Board of Education, incumbents Lee Scripture III and Janie Spencer easily won re-election to four-year terms.

Scripture polled 337 votes, Spencer got 275, and challenger Janet Bowser captured 146.

The board of education election is final. Scripture and Spencer will begin their new terms July 1.

A 1994 federal court order limits Tyrrell residents to one vote in elections for board of commissioners and forĀ  board of education.

Joe Biden led the Democratic Presidential Preference Primary race with 217 votes to 97 for Mike Bloomberg and 88 for Bernie Sanders.

Donald Trump garnered 222 votes to 3 for Joe Walsh and 1 for Bill Weld in the GOP Presidential primary.

Cal Cunningham won over Erica Smith 247 to 226 for the Democratic nomination for U.S. Senate.

Thom Tillis easily won re-nomination on the GOP ticket for U.S. Senate, registering 184 votes to 15 for Paul Wright.

In the Democratic race for Governor, incumbent Roy Cooper won over Ernest Reeves 397 to 144.

The GOP Governor’s race saw Dan Forest leading 213 over Holly Grange’s 12 votes in Tyrrell.

Allen Thomas got Tyrrell Democrats’ endorsement for Lieutenant Govenor 264 to 74 over Yvonne Holley.

The GOP race for Lieutenant Governor nomination put Mark Robinson on top with 97 votes and John Ritter second with 28.

The Republican race for Attorney General put Sam Hayes first with 99 votes, followed by Jim O’Neill with 72.

Beth Wood got 369 votes to 76 for Luis Toledo for State Auditor on the Democratic ticket.

In the GOP race for Auditor, Tony Street overcame Tim Hoegemeyer 121 to 56 votes.

The Commissioner of Agriculture race on the Democratic ticket saw Walter Smith taking the nomination from Jenna Wadsworth 254 to 146.

The GOP nomination for Commissioner of Insurance went to Mike Causey over Ronald Pierce 115 to 70 votes.

The Commissioner of Labor Republican nomination was won by Chick Stanley over Josh Dobson 86 to 71.

The GOP nomination for Secretary of State went to Chad Brown over E.C. Sykes 83 to 65.

The Superintendent of Public Instruction nomination on the Democratic side went to Keith Sutton over James Barrett 153 to 85.

The GOP nomination for Superintendent of Public Instruction was captured by Catherine Truitt over Craig Horn 106 to 78.

The Democratic race for State Treasurer nomination went to Matt Leatherman 256 to Dimple Ajmera 109.

Voter turnout in Tyrrell County was 828 out of 2,221 registered voters, or 37.28%. Elections director Emily Hodges said 293 electors voted absentee or early, so 35% of Tyrrell voters chose to cast their ballots before Mar. 3.