Filing period ends at noon Friday; Aurora short one candidate

Published 7:34 pm Thursday, July 15, 2021

With half of a day left in the filing period for most local 2021 municipal elections, there is only one contested race and almost all seats up for election are now covered by a candidate.

The filing period for all municipalities except Belhaven closes at noon Friday. Belhaven’s filing period starts at noon on July 26 and ends at noon on Aug. 13.

Five candidates filed Thursday: Louise Furman for Chocowinity commissioner, Lee Bowen for Washington Park commissioner, Stuart Ricks for Pantego mayor, Matthew van Nortwick for Pantego commissioner and Jeff Peed for Aurora commissioner.

The only contested race at this point is for the two available seats on the Chocowinity Board of Commissioners. Incumbents Billy Albritton and Louise Furman and newcomer Gerald Bullock are in the running for those two spots. Jimmy Mobley’s bid for re-election as mayor of Chocowinity is currently uncontested.

Incumbent Jeff Peed is currently the only candidate in the race for two available spots on the Town of Aurora Board of Commissioners. If no other candidates file for the Aurora Board of Commissioners by noon Friday, the filing period will be extended for that race only.

Outside of Aurora, there are enough candidates to cover each of the available positions in all of the other municipalities. A couple of incumbents haven’t yet filed for re-election.

All filing fees are $10 and can be paid with cash or personal check. General information about filing for an election in North Carolina can be found here. Information specifically about filing in Beaufort County can be found here. Candidates can bring completed forms to the Board of Elections office, or they can pick up and fill out those forms at the office. Notaries are available at the Board of Elections office. Forms can be completed, notarized and mailed to the Board of Elections office, but they must be received by noon on July 16. The address is 1308 Highland Drive, Suite 104, Washington, N.C.  27889.

Following is a list of candidates who have filed as of Thursday evening. Incumbents are marked with an asterisk.

Aurora (Mayor and two commissioner seats up for election)

  • Mayor: Clif Williams*
  • Commissioner: Jeff Peed*

Bath (Two commissioner seats up for election)

  • Commissioner: Donna Wortman, Donald Shreve

Chocowinity (Mayor and two commissioner seats up for election)

  • Mayor: Jimmy Mobley *
  • Commissioner: Gerald Bullock, Billy Albritton*, Louise Furman*

Pantego (Mayor and five commissioner seats up for election)

  • Mayor: Stuart Ricks
  • Commissioner: Mart Benson*, Chuck Williams*, Chad Keech*, Reid Gelderman*, Matthew van Nortwick*

Washington Park (Mayor and five commissioner seats up for election

  • Mayor: Tom Richter*
  • Commissioner: Jeff Peacock*, Belinda Cowell*, Patrick Nash*, Wade Dale*, Lee Bowen*

Washington (Mayor and five City Council seats up for election)

  • Mayor: Donald Sadler *
  • City Council: Richard Brooks *, Mike Renn* (appointed), Betsy Kane *, A.J. Congleton, Bobby Roberson