Local elections board members reappointed

Published 8:35 pm Monday, July 19, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Tom Payne has been reappointed chair of the Beaufort County Board of Elections, according to a release from the office of Gov. Roy Cooper.

That means the entire 2019-21 Board of Elections will stay intact for another two years. In late June, the State Board of Elections announced the reappointments of Ranee Singleton, John Tate, Watsi Sutton and Jason Williams to the county Board of Elections. Singleton and Tate are Republicans; Sutton and Williams are Democrats.

State law requires the State Board to appoint four members, two from each leading party, to each of the 100 county boards of elections. Board members serve two-year terms.

The state chairs of the Democratic and Republican parties recommended three registered voters in each county for appointment. The State Board appointed two of those individuals from each party.

Each nominee is required to complete an application, and they must agree not to engage in prohibited political speech while serving on the board.

The governor appoints the chair of each county board.

“We are happy to welcome new members to North Carolina’s elections team,” said Karen Brinson Bell, executive director of the State Board. “Together, we will continue to ensure that our elections are accessible, safe, and secure, and that every eligible vote counts.”