BCCC Foundation golf tournament raises funds for scholarships-  auction moves online

Published 4:40 pm Wednesday, September 22, 2021

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Beaufort County Community College Foundation-Nutrien 27th

Annual Invitational Golf Tournament for Scholarships enjoyed perfect weather at the Cypress Landing Golf Club Sept. 10.

The tournament, which supports students through scholarships and emergency grants, attracted 19 teams. The foundation cancelled the banquet component of its Celebrating Hope Auction and Banquet due to public health concerns, but moved the auction online, which opened September 21.

The golf tournament consisted of a four-person super ball format with teams pre-flighted based on each golfer’s handicap.

The Flight A winners were Alan Matthews, Gabe Matthews, Luke Matthews, and Chip Wheeler.

The Flight B winners were John Rebholz, David Webster, and Bill Hufham. The Flight C winners were Eric Tetterton, Rusty Elks, Johnnie O’Neal, and Ty Ebron.

The Women’s Flight winners were Sue Kammers, Marty Hackney, Leigh Ann Watts, and Kathy Simpson.

Washington High School’s Marshall Asby, Rob Bergevin, Thomas Oliver, and Hayden Moore won the High School Flight.

The tournament is one of the largest annual fundraising events for the BCCC Foundation. The money helps provide qualifying students with textbooks and complements the Beaufort Promise program that uses existing and new federal and state funds to offer free tuition and fees to qualifying students. The BCCC Foundation hopes to raise enough funds in the coming years to continue the Beaufort Promise program after the program expires in 2023.